Postmortem

After eight weeks of teamwork and every group members’ efforts, we finally completed the development of this shoot’em up game.  I believe that everyone has learned something that they can help themselves in future studies or work from this experience. I also believe that everyone is eager and ambitious for the next arcade game project.

This is a menu screenshot of the final version of our game:

微信截图_20180320214117.png

I can say that our team and I are satisfied with the final version of our game.
Similarly, we are also satisfied with the results that we obtained in the last playtesting.

Our group prepared several questions for the last playtesting, such as:

· What was your favorite moment in the game?

· Do you have any final words for us?

In this playtesting, we got feedback from 31 playtesters. I don’t really want to list the answers we got of these two questions because almost every answer is different, each playtester enjoys a different moment of enjoyment in the game. The reason I have shown these two questions is that we got a lot of good feedback, which makes me really happy. Since this is the first shoot’em up game that I programmed. I feel a great sense of accomplishment.

Through the course Game Design 2: Game Development,  as a member of a group, through these eight weeks, I have learned the division and cooperation in the group. I have also learned how the Scrum framework worked during in group work. Such as, make a sprint planning before a work phase begins and make a sprint review at the end of the work phase. I believe it will be helpful not only for my future group work in school but also for my future work in a company. As a programming student,  through eight weeks, of course, I have learned a lot of programming skills. This is the first time I have used unity to program and make games. So I also encountered a lot of difficulties in the process. But I have solved the difficulties which I encountered by watching the tutorial videos online or discussing the problems with other programming classmates in my spare time.

I am glad that we have been able to get through this game in eight weeks. It gives me a lot of confidence for next arcade project.

Thanks for reading my blog! I hope you all can finish a good arcade game in the next project!

Postmortem”的一个响应

  1. Your blog was enjoyable to read although a bit lacking in details. You talk about why you and your team are happy with the results and reference the last playtest and the positive feedback that you got, but I would like to know if there was anything you guys were not satisfied about and if there is something that the testers did not like because you only mentioned the good feedback you got, and that is fine, but I think you should also take the reasonable negative comments as well.

    I like the part about what you have learned from this course and how you divided it into different criteria, but you did not go into details for any of them, you just briefly mentioned what you learned but not how it is going to be useful to you, and you I would have liked to know what some of these difficulties that you had were, I think mentioning some examples there will make the blog appeal more to people who have probably faced the same difficulties.

    Overall it was an enjoyable read, but lacked some details that were not necessary, but would have added more substance to your blog.

留下评论